Want some more falafel?

This thought has been on my mind for some time now. No, not to have falafel. Well yeah, that and something to do with being tired of having street food falafel in pita bread with home-made mayo and not authentic Lebanon tahini.

I am an Indian,born and brought up in this wonderful culturally diverse land of ours. I’m 19 now and  i suppose these thoughts run rampant in everyone’s minds when they are of my age but mine are a bit too extreme.

I’m grateful for this opportunity I’ve had, living in a third world country and all, to savour cultures and musings of various countries. But the effect these have had on me are of a delusional kind. I do not wish to live in India. Would it be too unrealistic and unpatriotic of me to run off to France and Japan? To not want to be in the midst of all these colours all the time? To go to Lebanon and taste falafel with authentic tahini sauce? 

I have realized for sure now that these aren’t the usual belief of the foreign being more attractive and exotic. I may have dismissed that as the above, before. But unless i venture out now i would never know if there is a girl sitting outside her home in Dublin, tired of all those Irish pubs, wondering about the same thing as me.

2 thoughts on “Want some more falafel?

  1. The grass is always greener on the other side, right? But don’t worry, I guess when you do venture out, you will realize where your hearts lies, to be absorbing cultures elsewhere whilst still rooted into your culture of origin, or to be surrounded by your culture of origin and still enjoying bit-sized bits of cultures here and there, either way appreciating the diversity of the beautiful world we live in.

Leave a Reply

