CHI CAN

A recently released advertisement which amuses me a lot is of makemytrip.com. The ad concerns an Indian tourist in a Chinese market, on the lookout for a chicken meal. He chances upon a small eat-out where there is a lady outside dressed in a plucked chicken costume. The man eagerly approaches and seeing the hoarding CHI CAN RESTAURANT, enters the eatery. He is impressed to find chicken photographs on the menu card and also chicken head imprinted on the insides of the small bowls. He calls a waiter, points at a dish on the menu card and orders that. The food arrives, he puts a spoonful in his mouth and enjoys thoroughly.

Now comes the fun part. He calls on the waiter and imitates the chicken dance, simultaneously uttering pok, pok. The waiter in turn, says, no pok pok bhow bhow and copies the hand gesture which signifies a dog bark.

The tourist is dismayed and the camera zooms in on the photograph of a dog hung on the wall in the background.

The ad ends in a very catchy sentence-jo dikhega,wohi milega.

Now the aim of my article is not to belittle the very famous company’s marketing campaigns, but is to bring to our notice the difference between what we see and what we perceive.

If someone asks me, what do you study? Social etiquette requires of me to answer economics. But I know that is not entirely right. Sure, I study economics, but that is not all and not all of it I do for myself or my interests. Some of it I do for my impending doom on an exam.

But given a chance to answer truthfully, or without the god of social etiquette judging me, I would answer I study people.

Is it my interest, yes? Would I take it up as a career, heck no.

Do my friends, with whom I spent most of my time beside myself, know about this peculiar interest of mine?

NO.

Why?

Because I have not shown it to them. Because I choose how to behave myself in front of them. Because I choose not to let my interests be shown so easily. And maybe, just maybe, you could say I get away under a shrouded veil of pretension. So that every other person I talk to, who think that they know me well, are now in a state of unawareness.

Because how they perceive of me is as what I want to show them.

Isliye, jo dikhta hai,who hota nehi.

Aur jo hota hai,who dikhta nehi.

Leave a Reply

