Because to stand out is too commonplace

Recent times have seen an upsurge of people trying to do things ‘differently’. Trying to spice up their life. Trying to invoke a feeling in themselves that they are not just idling their time behind their 10 to 6 desks (don’t you know? It’s not 9 to 5 anymore, silly),but rather assuring themselves that the time they slog now will pay for their 9 days,8 night package tour to Australia.

Don’t you think there’s enough of this ‘zindagi na milegi doobara’ crap doing the rounds already? That it’s too much of chugging and boozing and inhaling drug around to handle? That happiness doesn’t have that joyfulness when there was nothing to cry about earlier? That in every bookstand you’re bound to find more autobiographies than business investment books? Which barely translates to the fact that every 8th person you meet in the streets finds her life story worth retelling to people of the world?

Well, what if I change my perspective now and I say I don’t want different?

What if I want to go to Japan and be an animator and not give in any way to my family, who raised me, to my birthplace, who cultured me, and to other hosts of my parasitical form whom I fed off during my upward climb of the success ladder?

Would that be different enough? Maybe yes

Would that be selfish of me? Definitely yes.

Would you deem my act heroic? Would my greed make way for irrational thoughts in the very distant future? Will I be hated for that? Hated for doing it differently?

When I was in school, I had read this quote:

If you laugh at me because I’m different,

I’ll laugh at you all because you are all the same

When I was a young kid, my papa had said, ‘don’t try to be different. To be good is different enough.’

Now would I rather simplify my life with my selfish dreams or complicate it by doing what is good for the society?

Would I rather stand out or fit in?

Well, to each his own.

Leave a Reply

